Day 6: The Status Quo


Oh my. I don’t think there has been a day in these past six days that I’ve not thought ‘Dude, that would be an amazing Facebook status.. oh wait. Forty days isn’t up yet.’

From amazing food I ate this weekend, to the dog with the pink sweater I saw in town today, I have wanted to tell the world.

Why? Why have I even cared enough to want to tell people who could probably care less about what I have to say or what I have to do?

Notifications.

They are the devil I tell you. The devil. It tells you that people thought of you at this specific moment. Thought you were insightful, funny, or that you misspelled something. Also, it shows they ‘liked’ what you said.

Ever since Facebook, I’ve noticed that how I place my self worth is how many notifications I have. Pathetic. (I seem to like that word here as of late.)

Six days in, and I’m wondering ‘How many notifications do I have? How many people have noticed I’m not on there anymore?’ Ugh.

Today I’ve spent a lot of time thinking of how much it doesn’t matter. It doesn’t matter if people like me, wonder what I do from day to day or even care about what I think. It doesn’t matter.

What does matter is that I care about myself. I need to love myself for who I am, for me. Why base my worth on what others think? It’s the internet. Who cares?

I’m learning to not live by the status quo of the world. I’m learning to live by the status quo of where I will end up. The glorious home of my Father.

Who’s with me?

About mefetterhoff

From baking, buttons and blogging, all my thoughts typed out on a website. View all posts by mefetterhoff

Leave a Reply

