Day 1: Jonesing begins.


Started my day wishing the 40 days were over. Already.

No, I’m not that addicted to Facebook… Ok, maybe I am, but first thought that went through my head was ‘What the heck are you going to do now that you have sooooo much free time in your day?’

Consider me… antsy. It’s like I’m going through withdraws, no joke.

I’m feeling pathetic, but it’s good. I’m riding myself of spending hours comairing myself and sizing myself up. I’m also spending more time with Christ.

Want to know how many times I prayed today? A LOT. Not because of Facebook, but actually for other people. I spent a lot of time today praying for people who I thought of, talked to, texted and… well everyone. It was so nice really. I feel like I’m talking to an old friend.

I’ve realized that I’ve turned Jesus into an ‘old friend’. By filling my free time with Facebooking and internet surfing, I take away time from talking to my best friend.

I’m so glad I chose to do this (even if the next 40 days is full of complaining). I know this is going to change me and the way I look at things. The way I look at life.

I started reading a book called ’90 Minutes in Heaven’ today. I got through the first chapter. And cried. It gave me chills and made me realize how scared of death I am. I know where I’m going, so I’m not scared of that at all, but I’m scared of the way I will die. Morbid I know, but give me some slack. I’m 21, just tasting what life is. Knowing it could all end at any given second… Shew.

The celebration the author describes of his greeting to Heaven is something I am looking forward to.

So there we are, I survived my first day. Struggled… a lot, but I made it.

 

*** How about you? Did you make it with your fasting?

About mefetterhoff

From baking, buttons and blogging, all my thoughts typed out on a website. View all posts by mefetterhoff

Leave a Reply

