First 5 things you should know…


I’ve been MIA lately, and I am here to say ‘I’m Okay!’

I’ve been dealing with some sickness, but I’m back in action now. Ready to blog, as long as you are ready to read!

 

While being sick, I was in the hospital on strict bed rest. I noticed that at a hospital it all looks very plain, organized, and… well you kinda go crazy if you stay there too long. I had a lot of time to think while I was there, and here are a few of the things I thought.

5 things you should know when being a patient.

1. Your experience should remind you of one of your favorite TV shows.

Doctor remind you of House? Nurse remind you of Meridith Grey? For me, the random people I passed in the hallway were the people I would be stranded with on a mysterious island, trying to find our purpose in life. My experience was “LOST” induced.

2. Eating the food could kill you, if your illness doesn’t.

Ok, not really, but the first night, I had my mom bring me a burger from a local burger place. Next night, she brought me chicken fajita nachos. After that meal? I lost my appetite for four days. I’m pretty sure the hospital food would have killed me if I forced it down my throat.

3. No matter how ‘alright’ they are with their job, a nurse hates to deal with your urine cups just as much as you hate to give it to them.

I’m sure I hated it more than they did, because every time I felt the urge to use the restroom, I had to page a nurse. It’s so nice to know every bathroom visit was recorded in my file.

4. Keep people updated.

Your friends and family WILL hate you if you don’t tell them you’re still alive. That’s a word from the wise, and I consider myself wise.

5. Anxiety will become calming.

Instead of counting sheep, you count the list of all the things you need to be doing instead of laying in a hospital bed.

 

You might have more to add to this list, or you might have funny stories of hospital visits. Feel free to share!

About mefetterhoff

From baking, buttons and blogging, all my thoughts typed out on a website. View all posts by mefetterhoff

Leave a Reply

