Being a Doer


Ever read a passage of scripture, but not took it to heart? More like, read it, nodded to the ‘Big Guy’ and walked away oblivious to the fact that you needed to change?

We all have. God created us in His image, yet we still question our ‘beauty’. Our tongue can cause life or death, yet are we holding back? Being servants. Loving.

We fail all the time, but are we really making an effort?

Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says. Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like a man who looks at his face in a mirror and after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like. But the man who looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues to do this, not forgetting what he has heard, but doing it – he will be blessed in what he does.

James 1:22-25

When you look in the mirror, what do you see?

Me? I see a girl. On the short side, brown hair, loving the eyes. On the inside? Hmm… I see a girl who’s still growing. A girl who’s caused a lot of hurt. But faintly, I see God. I do. I like to think there are parts of me that look like God. I also think that I have a lot of pride that I say ‘looks like God’ but is just me.

I hope you see God in your reflection.

This reminds me of a video by the Skit Guys. It’s called God’s Chisel. In it, ‘God’ asks Tommy what he sees in the mirror. Tommy replies, ‘Me!’ and to that, God says ‘Ok, I need to keep chiseling because ultimately, you and others need to see my Son.’

Reflecting Christ isn’t something we should walk away from the mirror and forget about. We should be praying to draw ourselves into that place, where we take moments to think about what we are really doing.

Are you putting yourself in positions where you are hurting your spirit?

Are others shocked to find out you are a Christian?

Are you seeing God’s image in the mirror?

About mefetterhoff

From baking, buttons and blogging, all my thoughts typed out on a website. View all posts by mefetterhoff

Leave a Reply

